Taupo Historic Grand Prix

McLaren M23 expected to race at the Taupo Historic Grand Prix

The fifth edition of the Taupō Historic GP will continue the now annual tradition of celebrating a marque of car each year – and for 2021, it will be Ford.

Included in the iconic Fords models and Ford-powered cars expected to appear at the 2021 Taupō Historic GP is an example of the last Formula One car raced by New Zealand’s only World Champion, the late Denny Hulme; the Ford-Cosworth DFV-powered McLaren M23 now owned by the Giltrap family.

Ford races and on-track demonstrations will feature the numerous models of Zephyrs, Anglias, Cortinas, Mustangs, Escorts, Capris and Falcons that have graced race tracks and rally stages around New Zealand for over 60 years.

The single-seater races will include 1967 to 1988 examples of the world’s most successful junior category, Formula Ford. It was in Formula Ford that some of New Zealand’s most successful international drivers including Scott Dixon, Earl Bamber, Shane Van Gisbergen, Greg Murphy and Craig Baird honed the skills that took them to numerous championship and race titles around the world.


As well as grids for iconic Fords and Ford-powered cars over the three-day event, racing at the 2021 Taupō Historic GP will include:

  • Formula 5000s, the iconic stock-block 5-litre V8 single-seater category that dominated single-seaterracing in NZ, Australia, the United States and the UK from the late 1960s to 1976;
  • Historic Muscle Cars and Historic Saloon Cars, the FIA Group 2 and Group 5 touring cars that contested the New Zealand Saloon Car Championships in the late 1960s and early 1970s;
  • Formula Juniors and Sports Racing Cars from 1958 to the late 1960s.


Back to Calendar